Fire Emblem: Awakening

Fire Emblem Awakening
Fire Emblem Awakening is the 13th main game in the Fire Emblem series, and the first Fire Emblem to be released on the Nintendo 3DS. It is set on the continents of Archanea and Valm from the first two Fire Emblem games, 2000 years after the events of the first game. Players control a customisable ‘Avatar’ suffering from amnesia in a continent divided into the nations of Ylisse, Plegia and Regna Ferox. Of these, Ylisse and Plegia worship opposing deities: while Ylisse worships the Divine Dragon Naga, Plegia instead worships the Fell Dragon Grima. Taken in by the Chrom, the Prince of Ylisse, the Avatar joins Chrom’s personal army, the Shepherds and fights the forces of Plegia, as well as dark monsters known as the Risen.

As with previous Fire Emblem games, Fire Emblem Awakening is a tactical role-playing game in which players take on the role of a tactician directing a course of attack against enemies across a grid-based battlefield. Players choose combatants from their ever-growing roster of characters, and direct them over the battlefield to outmaneuver and defeat enemies. If the player’s characters are killed in battle however, they are gone for good. If the Avatar or Chrom die, however, it is Game Over. Fire Emblem Awakening features three main difficulty modes: Normal, Hard and Lunatic, with an additional “Lunatic+” difficulty mode becoming unlocked if players manage to beat the Lunatic difficulty mode. Fire Emblem Awakening also uniquely adds a new ‘Casual Mode’ to the series, which allows characters defeated in battle to survive and fight another day.

Between chapters, characters can have Support conversations, building up relationships between them, which can go so far as to have characters marrying each other and having children. Children can even be recruited into battle, in special, optional chapters, their appearance dictated by who their parents were. Relationships also have an impact on the battlefield, such as granting characters increased mobility.

Over the course of the game, the Avatar travels across a world map, exploring new locations, where he or she might encounter enemies, side-missions, or new characters to join the party. The player may also backtrack to previously explored locations, where they might find shops selling useful items and weapons. The game also takes advantage of the real-world time functionality, so that the time in-game is synchronized with real-world time.

  • Developer: Intelligent Systems, Nintendo SPD
  • Publisher: Nintendo
  • Genre: Tactical role-playing
  • Price:
  • Platforms: 3DS

Check out the latest information for Fire Emblem: Awakening on Gamers Heroes. We’ve compiled a list of guides, news articles, reviews, opinion pieces and more media than you can throw a stick at.

Latest Fire Emblem: Awakening News

Check Our News Section For The Latest Gaming News

Fire Emblem: Awakening Videos

[hdvideo autoplay=false id=20]

Fire Emblem: Awakening Guides

Fire Emblem: Awakening Guide – How to Unlock Paralogue Chapters Guide

The Paralogue missions in Fire Emblem: Awakening are side quests that unlock very powerful rare characters. Not every person that has Fire Emblem will necessarily know how to unlock the Paralogue…

Fire Emblem: Awakening Fast Leveling Guide

Fire Emblem: Awakening is all about strategy and a numbers. So what happens when you progress in the story and you feel like the numbers are against your favor? This Fire Emblem: Awakening Fast…

Fire Emblem: Awakening Guide – Paralogue 2: The Secret Seller Guide

Fire Emblem: Awakening Paralogue 2: The Secret Seller is a side quest with a character in trouble. This Fire Emblem: Awakening Paralogue 2: The Secret Seller Guide will go over how to save Anna so…

Find More Game Guides

Fire Emblem: Awakening Review

Check Out Our Other Honest Game Reviews

Fire Emblem: Awakening Screenshots & Gallery

  • Fire-Emblem-Awakening-Screenshot-1.jpg
  • Fire-Emblem-Awakening-Screenshot-2.jpg
  • Fire-Emblem-Awakening-Screenshot-3.jpg