StarCraft II World Championship Series 2018 Details Revealed

World Championship Series - Gamers Heroes
After wrapping up the 2017 series at BlizzCon in November, Blizzard has revealed a number of details regarding the 2018 World Championship Series (WCS) campaign.

The 2018 World Championship Series will feature the same number of WCS Circuit events as last year. However, in January, there will be a new, supercharged kickoff at WCS Leipzig. During this event (and the three additional Circuit tournaments taking place at DreamHack events throughout the year), the winning player will receive a direct seed into the Global Finals come the end of the year.

Regional representation for these events will stay the same, with four players qualifying from Europe, four from North America, two from Latin America, two from Australia/New Zealand, two from China, and two from the Asia Pacific region.

In Korea, the Global StarCraft II League (GSL) will continue for its eighth year. The 2018 schedule will consist of three GSL seasons, with two GSL Super Tournaments mixed in to the bunch. Each GSL season will reward the winning champion with a direct seed into the Global Finals come the end of the year.

There will be three global events in 2018. The Intel Extreme Masters (IEM) Katowice tournament rewards its champion with a berth at the WCS Global Finals, and will featuree a prize pool enhanced by the new StarCraft II War Chest.

On top of IEM Katowice and the WCS Global Finals serving as bookends to the global event schedule, GSL vs. the World will return in mid-2018. Stay tuned for further details.

Source: Press Release

Casey Scheld

Casey Scheld has more than 15 years of experience in the gaming industry as a community manager, social media director, event specialist, and (of course) gaming editor. He has previously worked with gaming start-ups like Raptr, publishers like Konami, and roller derby girls at PAX West (check out Jam City Rollergirls)! Gamers Heroes is a passion project for him, giving him a chance to tap into the underground side of gaming. He is all too eager to give these lesser-known heroes of the indie space the attention they so rightly deserve, seeking out the next gem and sharing it with the world. Previously making appearances at events like CES, GDC, and (the late) E3, he is all too happy to seek out the next big thing. For those that want to talk shop, send over a tip, or get an easy win in a fighting game of their choosing, be sure to check out his social media channels below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *